20181207 Hochschulmanager des JahresSperber among Germany’s six best university managers

7 December 2018 | DIT-Press Department – Also this year, the CHE Centre for University Development awarded the title “University manager of the Year”. This year, the winner was Prof. Dr. Karim Khakzar, President of the Fulda University of Applied Sciences, who was honoured accordingly in Berlin on 6 December. The fact that Prof. Dr. Peter Sperber, President of the Deggendorf Institute of Technology (DIT), has made it onto the short list of six finalists nationwide is something DIT is very proud of.

In November, a top-class jury nominated six heads of German universities for the award. All of them have shaped the development of their universities and initiated innovative change processes with exceptional leadership performance. "All six nominees have set in motion a strong dynamic of development at their universities, which has led to a clear profile and positioning. Their leadership styles are very different, but they are perfectly suited to their respective universities," said Frank Ziegele, Managing Director of CHE. To have made it among the last six is "a wonderful recognition for what we have initiated and moved at the university in Deggendorf in recent years", says Prof. Sperber. The course for a successful future has been set. The finalists of the election were determined in several stages. A data-supported pre-selection process, in which data from the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD), the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation and the CHE University Ranking, among others, was evaluated, revealed universities with particularly strong development potential. Then, all of the university management identified in the preselection process were asked about their understanding of leadership and their actions. These answers were compared with the views of the respective vice-rectors and vice-presidents as well as the chairmen of the university councils. On the basis of all this information, an expert jury made the nominations. This year, the jury included the former Federal Minister of Science, Prof. Dr. Johanna Wanka, and the President of the DAAD, Prof. Dr. Margret Wintermantel.

Picture (DIT): Prof. Dr. Peter Sperber, President of the Deggendorf Institute of Technology 

Photo (DIT): Student Lukas Fuller presents his experience in Canada at the University of Victoria.

Events & More

tv sperber en

25y thd


u multirank siegel international orientation sw

u multirank siegel contact to work environment sw

Cookies make it easier for us to provide you with our services. With the usage of our services you permit us to use cookies.
More information Ok